Newly restored and acquired by LUMI, the Savoy Barber Shop neon shines yet another light on Kansas City’s devotion to preserving its iconic Savoy brand.
The famed Hotel Savoy dates to 1888, founded by coffee purveyors John and Charles Arbuckle. Added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1974, the historic hotel has been restored twice since, once in the mid-1980s and again between 2016 and 2018.
The Savoy Grill opened in 1903 as part of the Hotel Savoy’s west tower expansion and has been in continuous operation since. Withstanding the Great Depression, 1960s suburban flight, a major 1990s kitchen fire and two hotel renovations, the renowned eatery continues to serve delicious fare from its original fixtures, including the famous Booth No. 4, frequented by Harry and Bess Truman, and its carved oak bar beneath original stained-glass windows and prized Edward Holstag murals.
The Savoy Barber Shop, located inside the hotel at street level, opened post-World War II, about 1947. Savoy cigar salesman Jack C. Wright was listed as the owner. Its neon sign is more mid-century—60s or 70s vintage.
LUMI is pleased to preserve and present a small piece of the ongoing Savoy story.
Fun fact: Two barber chairs from the Savoy Barber Shop were found in the most recent hotel restoration and incorporated into the newly decorated Savoy Grill.